Demonstrations

DEMOS | MARINA DE RIMOUSKI
WEDNESDAY, MAY 10 FROM 2:30 P.M. TO 4 P.M.

 

 

 

 

 

SPYBOAT® 

Demonstration of automated bathymetric data collection by the SPYBOAT® GOOSE aquatic drone. The SPYBOAT® GOOSE was specially designed to collect data using a 500 kHz monobeam sounder and a winch to lower a velocimeter to correct the collected data. The drone is controlled manually or follows a predetermined path in automated mode.

Person in charge :  Olivier Le Meaux

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

COMEX 

Comex will demonstrate a diver-operated tool featuring its ORUS3D technology on the CIDCO “reference wall” to showcase the capabilities of its system for inspecting underwater structures. A diver will collect data for approximately twenty minutes, and the results will be presented on the dock in the form of dense data clouds.

Person in charge : Jonathan Morvan

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

R2SONIC 

R2Sonic is hosting on-water demonstrations of the Sonic 2026 Wideband Multibeam Echosounder on Wednesday, 10 May. The demonstrations will focus on the MultiSpectral capabilities of the Sonic 2026 as well highlight the 0.5 x 0.5 degree beamwidth capabilities of this high-resolution system. The 45 minute demonstrations will be from 09:00 to 16:00 onboard the vessel FJSaucier, leaving every hour on-the-hour from Marina. Advanced booking is recommended and is on a first-come-first-served basis.

Person in charge : Mike Brissette

 

 


MICRODRONES

Since 2005, Microdrones is a world leader in developing unmanned aerial solutions, complete with flight planning software and workflow to achieve specific applications. During this demo, the mdMapper1000DG +LiDAR system will be presented. The mdMapper1000DG +LiDAR consists of a laser SICK LD-MRS, an Applanix APX15 GNSS-INS system and an RGB camera installed on a Microdrones md4-1000 drone.

 

 

 


 

HYDRO-QUÉBEC

Demonstration of Hydro-Québec’s Super Mohawk ROV capable of carrying out bathymetric surveys, visual inspections, and odd jobs. The Super Mohawk was specially developed by Forum Energy Technologies for Hydro-Québec’s needs. You will see the whole unit (ROV and pilothouse) during the demonstration.

Person in charge : Rudy Brochu


 

 

 

 

 

SEAFLOOR

Abstract: With the recent escalation in development of small, portable, hydrographic systems sensors such as singlebeam and multibeam echosounders, sidescan sonars, and imaging sonar systems, a requirement has followed for the development of unmanned surface platforms capable of quickly and easily carrying out remote survey missions.  To date, these vehicles have been Remote Control (RC) only whereby the user manually steers the vehicle along pre-planned survey tracklines or, at a random pattern at the will of the operator.  This paper discusses the implementation of cost-effective auto pilot systems in these vehicles, the applications for ASV’s and the advantages of an autonomous solution versus a remote controlled vehicle.

Person in charge : John Tamplin

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

HYDROBALL

Mapping the inaccessible becomes now possible! The HydroBall® buoy is a fully-autonomous solution for bathymetric data acquisition. Its spherical design and robust shell casing have been engineered to make the HydroBall® buoy most effective in non-traditional environments (river, canyon, reservoir, very shallow water, remote area). The HydroBall® buoy measures 40cm diameter, weights less than 13kg and shows an autonomy of more than 24h. She it encloses: a GNSS L1/L2 receiver, a mini-IMU and a single echo-sounder.

Person in charge : Julien Desrochers

Démonstrations

LES DÉMOS | MARINA DE RIMOUSKI
LE 10 MAI DE 14 H 30 À 16 H

 

 

 

 

 

SPYBOAT® 

Démonstration du drone aquatique SPYBOAT® GOOSE réalisant de façon automatisé le levé bathymétrique de plans d’eau. Le SPYBOAT® GOOSE a été spécifiquement développé pour réaliser des relevés en utilisant un sondeur monofaisceau 500kHz ainsi que la mise en œuvre d’un treuil permettant la descente d’un célérimètre afin de corriger les données acquises. Le pilotage est réalisé en temps réel ou en automatique suivant un parcours prédéfini.

Responsable :  Olivier Le Meaux

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

COMEX

Démonstration d’un outil représentatif de sa technologie ORUS3D, opéré par plongeur sur le « mur de référence » du CIDCO afin de démontrer les capacités du système en inspection d’ouvrages subaquatiques. Elle consistera en un relevé d’une vingtaine de minutes par un plongeur. Les résultats seront présentés sur le quai, sous la forme de nuages de points denses.

Responsable : Jonathan Morvan

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

R2SONIC 

Le mercredi 10 mai, R2Sonic tiendra des démonstrations sur le terrain de son écho‑sondeur Sonic 2026. Les participants pourront y découvrir les capacités multispectrales ainsi que les faisceaux larges de 0,5 x 0,5 degrés du système à haute résolution. Les démonstrations d’une durée de 45 minutes auront lieu de 9 h à 16 h à bord de la vedette hydrographique le F.-J.-Saucier, qui quittera la marina toutes les heures. Les places à bord seront attribuées selon le principe premier arrivé, premier servi.

Responsable : Mike Brissette

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

MICRODRONES

Depuis 2005, Microdrones est un leader mondial en développement de solutions drone, du logiciel de planification de vol jusqu’au workflow complet pour des applications spécifiques. Lors de cette démonstration, la nouvelle solution complète mdMapper1000DG +LiDAR sera présentée. Le mdMapper1000DG +LiDAR est constitué d’un laser SICK LD-MRS, un système GNSS-INS Applanix APX 15 et une caméra RGB installé sur le drone Microdrones md4-1000.

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

HYDRO-QUÉBEC

Démonstration du SUPER MOHAWK, ROV appartenant à Hydro-Québec réalisant des levés bathymétriques, inspections visuelles et des petits travaux. Le SUPER MOHAWK a été spécifiquement développé par Forum Energy Technologies pour Hydro-Québec afin de réaliser leurs activités et travaux. Vous verrez l’unité complète (ROV et poste de pilotage) lors de la démonstration.

Responsable : Rudy Brochu


 

 

 

 

 

SEAFLOOR

La récente multiplication de petits capteurs hydrographiques portables, notamment les échosondeurs monofaisceau et multifaisceaux, les sonars à balayage latéral et les sonars imageurs, a fait naître un besoin pour des plateformes de surface sans équipage capables d’effectuer rapidement et facilement des relevés à distance. Jusqu’à maintenant, ces véhicules ont toujours été télécommandés, c’est-à-dire qu’un opérateur guide manuellement le véhicule le long de lignes de levé préétablies ou aléatoirement à son gré.
Le présent article traite à la fois de l’intégration de systèmes de pilotage automatique économiques dans ces véhicules mais aussi des applications pour les véhicules autonomes de surface et des avantages de ces derniers par rapport aux véhicules télécommandés.

Responsable : John Tamplin

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

HYDROBALL

Cartographier l’inaccessible devient maintenant possible ! La bouée HydroBall® est une solution autonome d’acquisition de données bathymétriques particulièrement efficace en milieux non traditionnels (rivière, canyon, réservoir, zone ultra-côtière, région éloignée). La bouée HydroBall® mesure 40cm de diamètre, pèse moins de 13kg et affiche une autonomie de plus de 24h. Elle intègre à son bord  : un récepteur GNSS L1/L2, une mini-centrale inertielle et un sondeur monofaisceau.

Responsable : Julien Desrochers